Search Sponsored by:
Sunday, July 31, 2016
Speculator, NY ,

26 candidates file to run as independents

Monday, August 26, 2013 - Updated: 10:37 AM



LAKE PLEASANT - Twenty-six independent petitions have been filed with the Hamilton County Board of Elections for the Nov. 5 General Election.

In the Town of Arietta, Jacquelyn Grier, a Republican running to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Councilman James Farber, will also run on The Whippersnapper Party line.

Christy L. Wilt, a Republican running for a four-year seat on the town board, will also appear on The Clubhouse Party line.

Town Justice Gail A. Doherty, a Republican, and Daryl Parslow, who will run as an independent on the Law And Justice Party line, are running for two positions as town justice. Justice William Hotaling is not running for re-election; he will become the town's assessor instead.

In the Town of Benson, both Republican candidates for town supervisor filed independent petitions: Deputy Supervisor David L. Pincombe for the Pine Tree line and former councilman Phillip C. Snyder for the Horse Sense line. They will also meet in the Sept. 10 Primary Election. The winner there will have the Republican line in the General Election.

In the Town of Hope, both candidates for superintendent of highways, incumbent Terry S. Robinson, a Republican, and challenger Michael D. Palmer, a Democrat, filed independent petitions. Robinson will also appear on the Team Work Party line and Palmer on The Deer Party line.

Democrat Pamela A. Palmer, who is running against Republican Rudy F. Peters for town justice, will also appear on The Sunrise Party line.

In the Town of Indian Lake, Councilperson Sally Stanton, a Democrat, will run for re-election on The Community Development Party line. Political newcomer Kelli K. Mitchell will have the Democrat line. Two seats are up for election.

No races will be decided on Primary Day in the Town of Lake Pleasant, as all candidates for contested party lines filed independent petitions.

Supervisor Neil P. McGovern, a Republican, will run on The Unity Party line. His challenger, Republican Kimberly Parslow Byrne, will run on the An Independent Voice For The People line. The winner in the Primary Election will have the Republican line in the General Election.

Superintendent of highways candidates Wayne J. Lucas and Randolph La Varnway will run on the Labrador and Fair Deal lines respectively. Both are Republicans. The winner in the Primary Election will have the Republican line in the General Election. Incumbent Leo Desrochers is retiring.

Both candidates for councilperson, Republican incumbents Betsy A. Bain and Nancy Germain, filed independent petitions. Bain will also appear on the Right To Bear Arms line and Germain on the Adirondack line.

Town Clerk Deborah O'Rourke, a Republican, will also appear on the RayRay line.

In the Town of Long Lake a new contender has thrown his hat into the ring for a seat on the town council: Thomas L. Donnelly, who will run on the Pine Tree Party line. He is a non-affiliated voter.

John W. Adams is also challenging incumbent councilmen Lew A. Plumley and Dean H. Pohl; they are all Republicans. All three have filed independent petitions -- Adams as the Peoples Voice Party, Plumley as The Horse Party and Pohl as the Bull Moose Party -- ensuring the loser in the Republican Primary Election will still be on the General Election ballot.

Two councilmen will be elected.

Town Clerk / Tax Collector Dixie Lee LeBlanc, a Republican, is being challenged by Republican Colleen E. Smith. One will win the Republican line in the Primary Election, but both will be on the General Election ballot, LeBlanc on The Deer Party line and Smith on the Black Bear Party line.

Superintendent of Highways Charles H. Farr II, a Democrat, will also appear on the Bull Moose Party line in the General Election.

In the Town of Morehouse Councilperson Cynthia L. Valik and Mary Ann Mosher, both Republicans, are running for town council. Two seats will be filled. Mosher will also run on The Peoples Party line.

Councilperson Carol Garvin is not running for re-election.

In the Town of Wells the two Republicans running to replace Justice Henry Malec, who died suddenly June 10, both filed independent petitions: Deborah J. Klim to run on the Justice With Integrity line and Gerard A. Murphy to run on The Old Gray Rider line. The winner in the Primary Election will also have the Republican line in the General Election.

No independent petitions were filed for any Hamilton County or Town of Inlet positions. Independent petitions were due between Aug. 13 and Aug. 20.


Comments made about this article - 0 Total

Comment on this article


Copyright © McClary Media, Inc.

Privacy Policies: Hamilton County Express

Contact Us