Hoops seasons tip off


Sports Correspondent

The 2012-2013 Mountain and Valley Athletic Conference basketball season got underway yesterday when the Indian Lake/Long Lake and Wells boys’ teams faced off in Wells. The two girls’ teams will match up today in Indian Lake. Both schools have updated game schedules on their websites.


The boys’ varsity at Wells has all five starters returning and welcomed five new players to the team. They are looking to improve on last season’s 5-9 record.

Senior Jake Earley and junior Ben Brennan are both experienced players who work well together on the court. Earley, who led The Indians in scoring and rebounding as a junior, is expected to be the catalyst behind the Wells’ offense this season. Brennan will once again be relied on to crash the boards and provide solid guard play.

The team is eager to play and is hoping to be competitive within the league.

The players are seniors Jake Earley, James Hoffman, Caleb Hayes, Jared Jennings and Blaine Elemendorf; juniors Ben Brenan, Seth Weaver, Matt Michenzi, Kenny Chicoski, John Biederman, Johnny Page, Stephen Raymond and Steven Mayer; and sophomores Joey Trainor, David Foster, Tyler Peck and Adrian Collado.


The girls’ varsity team at Wells is excited to be playing basketball after not participating in soccer this past fall due to low enrollment. Seniors Brittany Woodward and Bobbi-Jo Page, the only returning starters, will be counted on to lead the team and improve on last year’s 3-10 record.

The remainder of the returning players and four new players will look to replace the well-rounded play lost when Desire Gallup and Macala Vrooman graduated and Karlie Tomlinson transferred to Broadalbin-Perth for her senior year. Strong defense and the willingness of team members to work hard on their individual skills and develop as a team are the keys to the Lady Indians being successful this season.

The team is made up of seniors Brittany Woodward and Bobbi-Jo Page; juniors Chelsea Simon and Breanna Mayer; and sophomores Samantha Zemken, Kaeli Brenan , Veronica Stone and Alora Longenecker.


The IL/LL boys’ varsity team has its entire starting line-up returning from last season’s roster. Colin Farrell and Matt Moore, both versatile senior players, will be depended on for consistent ball handling and creating offense for The Orange. Returning seniors Seth Hart and Kyle Douglas will be relied on for productive minutes off the bench.

Three sophomores round out the starting line-up and, along with three new members, The Indians anticipate improving on last season’s 3-12 conference record.

The team is made up of seniors Colin Farrell, Matt Moore, Seth Hart and Kyle Douglas, sophomores Henry Saniford, Curtis Seaman, Rudy Giessen, Kole Morrissey and Josh King; and freshman Billy Walters.


The IL/LL girls’ varsity team returns all but one starter from last season’s MVAC Division Championship and Section VII Championship team. Morgan Hinckley is no longer with the team as she relinquished her senior year of high school to enroll in The Clarkson School.

The starting five will vary game to game but will consist of seniors Jessica Bain, Sydney Hinckley, Abby Darling, Meg Smith, Morgan King and junior Shannon Farrell. A strong work ethic, outstanding team chemistry, height and strong guard play are all attributes The Orange will rely on in their quest to defend their division title and bring them success in post-season play.

The players are seniors Jessica Bain, Sydney Hinckley, Abby Darling, Meg Smith, Morgan King and Chelsea Walters; juniors Shannon Farrell, Erica Dumond and Ronya Hamdan; and sophomores Alexis Seery, Leah Foster, Cheyenne Wilder and Victoria Moore.